Edelweiss #5/16|Book Information: Aerie (Magonia 2/2) by Maria Dahvana Headley

 

Book Information
Title: Aerie
Series: Magonia
Place in series: 2
Number of pages: 20
Author: Maria Dahvana Headley
Format Received: DARC
Date Received: May 18
Publisher: HarperCollins
04 October 2016,
On Sale Date: 03 November 2016,
Ship Date: 14 September 2016
ISBN: 9780062320551, 0062320556
Price £12.99 GBP, $17.99 USD, $21.99 CAD
Ages 13 And Up
Genre:  Si-Fi Fantasy Paranormal Romance
Goodreads: Click here to see more
Book Summary

The sweeping sequel to MAGONIA follows Aza as she grapples between the world she’s chosen and the world she’s destined to return to.

In MAGONIA, earth-bound Aza discovered that she’d been living in the wrong world her whole life. In her rightful kingdom in the sky, her sick and addled body actually holds tremendous power. In AERIE, Aza is back on earth, but MAGONIA still calls her to fight for both the survival of humanity, and her love with her best friend, Jason.

Author Biography

Maria Dahvana Headley is a memoirist, novelist, and editor, most recently of thAuthor Image 1e novel Queen of Kings and the New York Times bestselling anthology Unnatural Creatures (coeditor with Neil Gaiman). As the author of the work of short fiction “The Traditional,” she has been nominated for a Shirley Jackson Award. She lives in Brooklyn with a seven-foot stuffed crocodile and a collection of star charts from the 1700s.

Quotes/Reviews

PRAISE FOR MAGONIA: “Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she’s whip smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream.”—Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of The Graveyard Book and Coraline

Magonia is magical. A high-flying, refreshing, and literally out-of-the-blue fantasy with great characters, emotional depth, and a unique fantasy world that I never saw coming.” —Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen
“Headley riffs like an improv comic…funny, furious, and vulnerable. The haunting conclusion leaves many issues unresolved, but the ferocious, intelligent power of Aza and Jason’s bond is completely affirmed. Sweeping, strange, and richly imagined, the novel is ideal for fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“With lush writing, memorable world building, and an array of peculiar characters, this is sure to thrill readers looking for a distinctive, imaginative tale in the vein of Laini Taylor and Neil Gaiman.” —ALA Booklist

“The painful, sarcastic beauty of Aza’s interactions down below in the everyday world begs comparisons to John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.“  —Kirkus Reviews

“The book races to an epic confrontation that will leave readers thrilled…. Romance, danger, and world-building combine.” —School Library Journal

“The sweeping, lyrical language in both parts of the book is captivating, with haunting scenes woven from carefully chosen, sharply evocative descriptions.” — The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A weird, unique, and beautifully crafted book.” —VOYA