Book Information | 2018 | American Street by Ibi Zoboi

American Street Book Cover American Street
Ibi Zoboi
Young Adult Fiction
HarperCollins
February 14, 2017
Kindle Book/ Audiobook
336
Amazon/Audible
Read from 3rd May 2017 to 16th April 2018
Robin Miller
Fabiola Toussaint, Chantal, Donna, Princess
Conrner of American and Joy Road in Detroit, Port-au-Prince Hati

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews! American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?