Edelweiss|Book Review| And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1) by Kiersten White

And I Darken Book Cover And I Darken
The Conquerors Saga #1
Kiersten White
YA Historical romance High Fantasy Retelling
Delacorte Press
June 28, 2016
DARC
496
Edelweiss Abovethetreeline

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story’s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters. Fans of Victoria Aveyard’s THE RED QUEEN, Kristin Cashore’s GRACELING, and Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won’t want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy. NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets. Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion. But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point. From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

I would to start by thanking the author, publisher and Edelweiss for allowing me to read this fantastically well written and developed story in exchange for an honest unbiased review. Although the first 1/2ish of the book was a little slow it was necessary as it was where most of the world building was done.

I have never read a book that retold the story of Vlad the Impaler in fact I have to admit that I don’t really know much about the person himself but now I have read this book I will read more about him. I loved the fact that the author twisted Vlad into a very dark, brutal anti Princess who was born in a time where she was viewed as little more than a chattel to be married off as soon as she’s old enough.
Lada Dracule was a really strong and brutal character who loved her brother Radu without hesitation Continue reading

Edelweiss|Book Review| Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

My Star rating: 5/5 Star’s
I’d like to thank the author, publisher and edelweiss for allowing me to read this fantastic book which I loved from cover to cover. I had never read a book about a character who was gender fluid let alone heard of gender fluidity being a gender option.

Riley was a well written and fully developed multi faceted character, who was completely believable and easy to connect with. As a reader you can’t help but feel for him/er, due to his gender fluid status. All the other characters were interesting and believable although there were some that I really didn’t like at all throughout the book in fact I found them positively
odious.

The books plot was thoroughly developed so easy to read and it meant that I as the reader not only felt for Riley as an individual dealing with his gender status but also the other people that s/he met at the Q as well as got to know through his/er blog